Cases in Comparative Government and Politics

by John McCormick

Useful Websites

The websites listed below have been carefully chosen to further your learning on the key topics in each chapter, with particular emphasis on government institutions, political parties, and media outlets.

Chapter 1: Comparing Government and Politics

Chapter 2: Political Systems

Chapter 3: United Kingdom

Chapter 4: Germany

Chapter 5: United States

Chapter 6: Japan

Chapter 7: France

Chapter 8: India

Chapter 9: Mexico

Chapter 10: Nigeria

Chapter 11: Turkey

Chapter 12: Russia

Chapter 13: China

Chapter 14: Iran



Chapter 1: Comparing Government and Politics

Political Resources on the Net www.politicalresources.net
United Nations www.un.org
Democracy Index www.eiu.com/home.aspx
Freedom in the World https://freedomhouse.org
Fraser Institute www.fraserinstitute.org
UN Development Programme http://hdr.undp.org
World Bank World Development Indicators https://datacatalog.worldbank.org/dataset/world-development-indicators
BBC News www.bbc.com/news


Chapter 2: Political Systems

Comparative Constitutions Project http://comparativeconstitutionsproject.org
Inter-Parliamentary Union www.ipu.org
Global Judicial Integrity Network www.unodc.org/ji
Election Guide www.electionguide.org


Chapter 3: United Kingdom

Office of the Prime Minister www.gov.uk/government/organisations/prime-ministersoffice-10-downing-street
UK Parliament www.parliament.uk
Royal Family www.royal.uk
Conservative Party www.conservatives.com
Labour Party www.labour.org.uk
BBC News www.bbc.com/news
The Guardian www.theguardian.com
The Independent www.independent.co.uk
The Times www.thetimes.co.uk


Chapter 4: Germany

Office of the Chancellor www.bundesregierung.de/breg-en/chancellor
Federal Government www.bundesregierung.de/breg-en
Bundesrat www.bundesrat.de/EN/homepage/homepage-node.html
Bundestag www.bundestag.de/en
Christian Democratic Union www.cdu.de *
Social Democratic Party www.spd.de *
Deutsche Welle www.dw.com/en/top-stories/s-9097
Der Spiegel www.spiegel.de/international
Die Zeit www.zeit.de/english/index
Frankfurter Allgemeine www.faz.net/aktuell *

* German only



Chapter 5: United States

White House www.whitehouse.gov
Senate www.senate.gov
House of Representatives www.house.gov
Supreme Court www.supremecourt.gov
Democratic Party www.democrats.org
Republican Party www.gop.com
New York Times www.nytimes.com
Washington Post www.washingtonpost.com
CNN www.cnn.com
Fox News www.foxnews.com


Chapter 6: Japan

The Japanese Government www.mofa.go.jp/index.html
Prime minister and cabinet http://japan.kantei.go.jp/index.html
House of Representatives www.shugiin.go.jp/internet/index.nsf/html/index_e.htm
Supreme Court www.courts.go.jp/english
Liberal Democratic Party www.jimin.jp/english
Komeito www.komei.or.jp/en/about
Democratic Party of Japan www.dpj.or.jp/english/index.html
Asahi Shimbun www.asahi.com/ajw
Japan Times www.japantimes.co.jp


Chapter 7: France

President of France www.elysee.fr *
Government of France www.gouvernement.fr/en/composition-of-the-government
National Assembly http://www2.assemblee-nationale.fr/langues/welcome-to-the-englishwebsite-of-the-french-national-assembly
La Republique en Marche! https://en-marche.fr *
Socialist Party www.parti-socialiste.fr *
The Republicans www.republicains.fr *
National Rally www.rassemblementnational.fr *
Le Monde www.lemonde.fr *
Le Figaro www.lefigaro.fr *
Libération www.liberation.fr *
France 24 www.france24.com/en

* French only



Chapter 8: India

Government of India Portal www.india.gov.in
GOI Directory http://goidirectory.nic.in
Prime Minister’s Office www.pmindia.gov.in
Indian Parliament http://parliamentofindia.nic.in
Supreme Court of India www.sci.gov.in
Bharatiya Janata Party http://bjp.org
Indian National Congress www.inc.in/en
The Hindu www.thehindu.com
The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com


Chapter 9: Mexico

Office of the President www.gob.mx/presidencia
Senate www.senado.gob.mx *
Chamber of Deputies www.diputados.gob.mx
National Action Party www.pan.org.mx *
Institutional Revolutionary Party www.pri.org.mx *
Party of the Democratic Revolution www.prd.org.mx *
Mexico Daily www.mexicodaily.com

* Spanish only



Chapter 10: Nigeria

Nigerian Government www.nigeria.gov.ng
National Assembly www.nassnig.org
Supreme Court of Nigeria http://supremecourt.gov.ng
People’s Democratic Party http://peoplesdemocraticparty.com.ng
All Progressives Congress www.allprogressivescongress.org
The Guardian https://guardian.ng
Premium Times www.premiumtimesng.com
This Day www.thisdaylive.com
News Agency of Nigeria www.nan.ng


Chapter 11: Turkey

Presidency of the Republic of Turkey www.tccb.gov.tr/en
Grand National Assembly of Turkey https://global.tbmm.gov.tr
Supreme Court https://web.archive.org/web/20110712105707/http:/www.yargitay.gov.tr:80/eng/index.php
Justice and Development Party www.akparti.org.tr/en
Republican People’s Party www.chp.org.tr (Turkish only)
Hurriyet Daily News www.hurriyetdailynews.com
Daily Sabah www.dailysabah.com
Turkish Radio and Television www.trtworld.com


Chapter 12: Russia

Russian Government http://government.ru/en
President of Russia http://en.kremlin.ru
Federation Council www.council.gov.ru/en
State Duma www.duma.gov.ru/en
United Russia https://er.ru *
TASS Russian News Agency http://tass.com
Pravda www.pravdareport.com
RT www.rt.com
The Russia Journal www.therussiajournal.com

* Russian only



Chapter 13: China

Government of China www.gov.cn/english
State Council http://english.gov.cn
National People’s Congress www.npc.gov.cn/englishnpc/news
ChinaSite http://chinasite.com
China Today www.chinatoday.com
South China Morning Post www.scmp.com/frontpage/international
China Daily www.chinadaily.com.cn


Chapter 14: Iran

Office of the Supreme Leader www.leader.ir/langs/en/index.php
Presidency www.president.ir/en
Majlis https://en.parliran.ir
Iranian Ministry of Foreign Affairs http://en.mfa.ir
IranOnline www.iranonline.com/Newsroom